The Sun is High

How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.

This line cracks me up even today. I used to study in a boarding school. It was really strict and the routine was tough too. So we had to wake up at five every morning. Then we used to nap during classes. And it wasn’t like we gave all nighters or anything like that, I mean not usually. And on vacations, my wake up time was nine in the morning whatever the case.

Now in medical college, there’s lots to study and very little time. But no matter how much I tried, it was almost impossible to wake up early. Even if I did, most of the morning I would be half asleep. And as we got study leave, my wake up time gradually got later and later. At the end, I used to wake up at 12 noon! No matter when I shut my eye, I woke up at twelve.  So by the end of the month, I used to sleep at five in the morning and wake up at 12. Felt kinda unnatural at first but I used to feel fresher with that new routine. When the exams arrived, I was back to the old routine. 

Somehow practising that late night routine now gave me tremendous control over my sleep. And nowadays, I wake up at nine in the morning.

2 thoughts on “The Sun is High”

Leave a Reply

