The Fault In Our Stars (2014)

This movie was amazing. Half the time I was thinking about a lot of things. There are many movies that kindle the mind and soul like this movie did. The Fault In Our Stars is without a doubt, one of the best romantic movies I’ve ever seen.
The initial part

felt a bit frustrating. Things were going in the direction of those typical love stories. Everything was perfect for the characters. Even in spite of the looming fear of death by cancer, the story progressed very positively. Yeah, that might sound selfish of me but honestly saying, I’m really put off by those perfect love stories. I don’t know why, but I really want the characters to suffer in movies like these. That’s the only way a love flick could be interesting for me. That’s the only way it would be believable for me. Life is never perfect for anyone. Take for example, The Silver Linings Playbook. It was the movie that got me interested into love stories in the first place. The movie was exciting in every way. And the thing that really got me impressed was that the characters really felt like real people with real issues. Okay, Jennifer Lawrence might be too pretty to be realistic for ugly guys like us but still. It was a family of not so perfect people like us dealing with even major problems in their lives in the almost same way that I think we would also react.

So I went in for a PET scan. I lit up like a Christmas tree, Hazel Grace.
So I went in for a PET scan. I lit up like a Christmas tree, Hazel Grace.

By the latter half of the movie, the scenario really turns grim. In fact, the most brutal turn of events occur. The character Augustus felt too good to be real. He kind of reminded me of Mr. D from that stupid movie, School of Life. But when Gus opened up about his problems, I could finally see the real person in him. To see how broken he was when he couldn’t take care of himself any more was just heart breaking. The whole movie is a big heart breaking flick anyway.

The acting was great and the music really did its work till the end. In fact, I’m listening to the end credits music as I write this. I was particularly impressed by Shailene Woodley’s performance as the lead actor. She really brought the character to life. The movie is highly thought provoking, always stressing on the fact that death is inevitable and can come to us in the cruellest manner possible, when no one expects it. This movie is more than a simple love story. It is about life, death and everything that makes them so imperative. This is a great watch!

4/5
4/5
3 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars (2014)”

  1. Personally I felt a bit dissapointed after seeing the movie, but well that happens when you have expectations after reading the book. It´s never the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

