‘The Shawshank Redemption’ at 20: How It Went From Bomb to Beloved

4 thoughts on “‘The Shawshank Redemption’ at 20: How It Went From Bomb to Beloved”

  1. When my boyfriend back in those days wanted to rent and watch a movie called Shawshank Redemption I only went along because I felt I had to. I had never heard of it and frankly was not keen on watching it at all. But how wrong I was! What a movie! Until today one of the best movies I’ve ever watched!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely loved this post, as it made me think of a high school classmate who has excelled and reinvented himself over the years as his life continues on stage. The Shawshank redemption is a great iconic movie and every time I see an advertisement for a movie such as this I think of Greg’s first part in Robert Redford’s “Brubaker” about the lives of prisoners in a southern Ohio prison not too unlike our own Lucasville penitentiary. Although Greg was an extra in the movie, he has since helped one new generation and is working their second follow on generation of young people to help them at least try the stage and or screen. Helping others to love the stage and screen as much as he does has been his life’s passion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

