Sleepless in Seattle (1993)

There are no shortage of love stories out there. Still I rarely go for a romantic movie but every once in a while, I get to see one. And when I do, I make sure it’s worthwhile.

Sleepless in Seattle is one of those movies that really touch the soul. It was a really long time since a movie actually made me feel like this. I guess it’s safe to say that as of now, this is my favourite romantic flick, putting Silver Linings Playbook in second place.

So what makes this movie click?

Writing

The story is a simple but touching at the same time. The writing is commendable especially because of the perfect pace. The movie goes on with just the right tempo and with an incredible background score, just feels perfect. The dialogues are great and somehow I just lost myself in the conversation.

The trick here is that you have to show that the characters really love each other; and that’s only the easy part. The hard part is where the characters have to connect to the audience themselves. If the audience doesn’t fall in love with the characters, nothing happens. Sleepless in Seattle was love at first sight.

Cast

Everything is great in this movie but to be short, there are mainly two things here that make this movie such an incredible experience- one, the cast and second, the music.

Tom Hanks
Tom Hanks, brilliant as always
Meg Ryan takes the stage with an incredible performance
Meg Ryan takes the stage with an incredible performance

Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan. The two had one of the best on screen chemistry in a movie, even though they appear together only for a few minutes. I still don’t know how they managed to pull this off so marvellously but every time any one of them appeared on screen, the viewer always wonders about the other one. They were like two peas in a pod. That was the real beauty of the movie. And to state the obvious, this was a movie where two people try to meet their destiny. Destiny and fate, miracles and coincidences, the movie keeps these in the foreground while telling the story about the two lovers and with a mesmerizing soundtrack playing in the background, this really does feel like a fairy tale come alive.

Music

Incredible. I always was a fan of old songs, be it English, Assamese or Hindi. This movie felt surreal with the background score. Featuring a rich collection of different creative pieces, this movie felt like it was a shining example of a truly romantic era. Movies like these give us such a beautiful glimpse of the times gone by, I just end up wishing that I was born sooner.


It’s sad this movie didn’t win an Academy but hey; even the Dark Knight lost out to Slumdog Millionaire, right? Sleepless in Seattle is one of those movies that you’ll remember for days and this is one movie I’m never gonna forget.

4/5


Submitted to the Daily Post prompt: Admire 

14 thoughts on “Sleepless in Seattle (1993)”

  1. I love this movie, too. I like pretty much everything Meg and Tom are in together, including the much-derided “Joe Versus the Volcano” and “You’ve Got Mail”, which shouldn’t really work as a romantic story because he effectively ruins her life, but she falls in love with him anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I watched this movie for the first time about 4 months ago when browsing Netflix. It was one of those movies that I’ve always heard of been never seen. My friend and I both desperately want to live in Seattle so this movie seemed as though an obvious watch for the two Sleepless in Seattle virgins that we were. And i agree with you review, completely. I love that you broke the movie down into each aspect, because, while i fell in love with the entire film from the beginning, looking back on it there wasn’t a single area that failed to impress!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Anyways, I checked out the your blog but very little of its contents (as I have very little interest on the subject); but one thing I would advise you is that you create an About page.
        Visitors would definitely like to know something about the person who is delivering such content.
        In your case a better about page means a more reliable source. So you know what to do.

        Like

Leave a Reply

