The Problem With Our Masks

I’m sitting on the second last bench. The entire batch of 2013 is sitting in front of me. Checked shirts, stylish ponytails, and the boring teacher giving his boring lecture. It is a fact that no one really has any real interest in what he’s saying and even he knows that. And there are those in front who are still pretending that they are interested.


My theory of people is different. What I see in front is a bunch of liars. There are many others who are even tired of all the fake smiles and all the pretending but for me, all this makes the world a bit interesting. I’m a pessimist by character. I always try to look at the good in others. The bad part is visible in plain sight. Knowing this, I try to maintain a particular kind of relationship with others. One rule is to trust no one. I belong to a batch of 150 and after a year, I consider only a few as my friend. Everyone here knows me and also think they know me well. Frankly speaking, my friends know me more than others but even then it’s only one side of the coin. I rue over the fact that I am not so honest myself. Everyone pretends,  but very few will also like the real you. Consider breakups. The longer the two people stay together the more they get familiar with each other. And if it’s not meant to last, they split up simply because they got to know each other too well. Everyone lies for some reason or the other. I do it protect myself and the people I care about. But many wear their masks for an entirely different reason. And that’s the only thing that really bothers me about this whole charade.

The Problem With Our Masks

Everyone is the good person nowadays. Every now and then we sit and talk on so many issues. Usually, it’s about the problems of this not so perfect world and how angry we’re about it. Of course, no one does anything about it but that is another topic. My topic is the impression that everyone tries to make on others during these discussions.

Everybody wants a good image of themselves. And they’re ready to take any bad steps to maintain that image. No one will ever admit their mistakes. No one will be at fault. All parties will be stressing heavily on how right they are and how wrong the other is. Anyone not present will be blamed and in the end, everyone will end up hating each other. Swami Vivekananda said that whenever something bad happens to you, you yourself are half responsible for it. If you’re so perfect then why are you here alone in the world with all the bad people? The moment one admits that he is also an asshole, the world immediately becomes a better place; for him and everyone else.

A man must be big enough to admit his mistakes, smart enough to profit from them, and strong enough to correct them.

John C. Maxwell

The problem with people nowadays is that they are so obsessed with maintaining their image that they begin to believe that the mask that they wear is their real face. It is a really sad to see someone lose himself like this. A teacher once told me that as we grow older, nothing remains simple. All of our relationships, whether good or bad will become more and more serious. Evidently, many quarrels ultimately hurt both parties which end up with a broken relationship; all over something so trivial that anyone else would simply laugh it off.

Honesty consists of the unwillingness to lie to others; maturity, which is equally hard to attain, consists of the unwillingness to lie to oneself.

Sydney J. Harris

Truth is, no matter how hard we try, we all end up as liars one way or the other. Sure there are exceptions but I assure you that they are very rare. In my opinion, it is almost impossible to be honest, all the time, but we must strive for this all the time. A person who really thinks he is an honest person is the biggest liar of all.

Believe those who are seeking the truth. Doubt those who find it.

Andre Gide


This post has been submitted for Daily Post Prompts: Hand-Me-Downs, Happy-Radars, Wicked Witch, I Walk the LineFlash-Talk, The Perfect Game, Reason to BelieveHorns, Can’t Stand Me, Quote me, PretendMask, AwareFlatteryFake, Outer LayersFalse, Radical AuthenticityPensive and Dark-Side-Thursdays

57 thoughts on “The Problem With Our Masks”

  1. The masks we wear or don’t wear – and what we choose to reveal about ourselves – was very much on my mind this week (assignments on ABOUT in the blogging 101 course .. from which I ended up here following your comments .. you help around a lot !!! )
    Who am I ? Who do others think I AM ? Who am I REALLY as God sees me. Questions to ask and answer truthfully for the truth will set you free.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed this post! Well done and congratulations on your 100 followers in just 3 months, that’s so great!
    Would very much appreciate if you would have a look at my blog (although it may not be your taste!)
    heathercolmore.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And you’re right.
      Your blog is not my taste. One thing I’ll tell you is that I’ve seen a lot of blogs like this, but your blog looks like the best one in the category so far.
      To be honest, I didn’t read anything but only checked your blog superficially.
      Great theme and you employ the prior use of images. Kudos to that.
      This is a nice blog. Keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Quotosphere
  4. Is not “trust no one” a bit cliché? I believe (and have seen) that there are always people kind enough and good enough to trust, you just have to find them. I also think that it is a good thing that we can hide things. It is also a good thing that we can never feel like someone truly knows us. I believe that draws us to God, who knows everything about each of us and truly cares for us.

    -LeviGrant

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like your piece, really unique and assertive writing style and easy to read. I also participated in this challenge, but wish I wrote something as deep, check out my foodie page, I do some creative writing also, truth is I shed my mask in high school and have been growing into my true Boho Mom self ever since. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice. I’m pretty reserved for quite a while when getting to know people. Unless, I get bored and have to entertain myself; then, I might loosen up. However, I usually maintain a large amount of respect for my friends that have always had the balls to just flow and say whatever vile or nice things come to their mind no matter how others may perceive it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

