I Cried

Through and through
Her cry drilled through my ears.
Body, mind and soul,
Nothing could bear it no more.
Almost deafening,
Brought me nearly to tears.
Somebody please kill me.
This, I just can’t take anymore.

Not a tear ran through my face.
(In) My chest, a conflagration so great;
Turning me from ashes to ashes.
Hard as stone, I thought my core to be;
Lay pulverized under the weight
(Of) Every tear that trickled with pain;
Weighing more than the earth itself.
My mind reeled back, my heart wreathed in pain.
(But) Not a tear ran through my face.

Her eyes,
Like burnt holes in a blanket.
Only blackness inside,
Only sadness inside.
That vivacious spirit,
All withered and worn.
Her world broken in half
No one else to pick up the pieces.

Be strong,
My eyes whispered.
The reply came in kind
As I looked dead in her eyes.

The world became a blur;
Seconds as long as years.
Her gaze held me in place.
Sad as a bird with no wings.
Breaking me piece by piece.
Still gathered all the strength I had
But far too great was the pain she carried;
Too great to bear alone.
Turned my face before my eyes gave way.
Must be strong for her all the way.
Yet not a tear ran through my face.
And I cried and cried and cried.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: Cupid’s Arrow, StruggleMouth Drop, FriendMust not Fail and Journey.

8 thoughts on “I Cried”

Leave a Reply

