The Kite Runner

Devastating.

Heart-breaking.

Unforgettable.

These are a few praises for the book printed on its cover. I don’t what to say myself. I want to say all this and even more, I guess. This book had been lying on my bookshelf for quite a while now and I regret not opening it before. I tried once but left because of a ridiculously busy study schedule for a high school student. I had no other choice. You have to study a lot if you’re an average student and want to make it into any professional college in India.

So how was it? I think the question is an insult to the writer himself. I think how one can even ask that question. Kite Runner is what I’ve always wanted in a storybook. This book has a lot to give, and I think with each read, you’ll always get something new.

A classic is a book that has never finished what it has to say.

Italo Calvino

I have read a lot of story books but none made me feel the way Khaled Hosseini made me feel. By the time I finished a quarter of the novel, I just had one thought- This guy is magic! There are a lot of good stories and there are a lot of good storytellers. Kite Runner is one of those rare works of literature that has both. There are a million ways to tell a story, but no one could ever take so many emotions and expression and stitch it into such a beautiful form that’ll grab your heart the moment you reach the next page. I broke down with sorrow and my face lightened with joy whenever the story took any such turn. I could not think of anyone or anything else. I just couldn’t control the urge to learn what happened. Even when the boy is simply wondering about the colours of the skies or about the way his father speaks, the author writes in such a way that you end up thinking like the kid yourself. Hosseini literally makes you see his world through his eyes. Be it a terrified little child, or a sad old man regretting his mistakes in retrospect, you end up in a hurricane of emotions that take you on a journey of your own.

It takes a musician to really appreciate music. It takes a writer to really appreciate the writing. I’m not a ‘writer’ in the traditional sense, I guess that might never happen. But I do write nonetheless. And I can really notice how powerful this work of fiction really is. Language could really be a powerful thing and this is the first real example I got. Previously the best form of ‘language’ I read in a book was in Genome by Matt Ridley. Of course, this is entirely subjective and just my opinion. But that was a really interesting read. And that was one of those books with a tougher than average vocabulary and that kept the language the interesting without any excess. But Kite Runner is an entirely different dimension. You never really need to know a dictionary, even though it helps to know. But still.

There is no limit to creativity and there is no boundary for art. Kite Runner is one of those exceptional specimens which just remind us of the infinite. This is a once in a lifetime experience.

5/5


Submitted to the Daily Post prompt: Shelf, Passionate & Admire

29 thoughts on “The Kite Runner”

    1. Thank you sir.
      And I visited your blog as well.
      And I would like to point out that your blog would do better with a responsive layout/theme so that it looks good and consistent across all devices and platforms.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh boy! I simply didn’t expect the story to unfold as it did. I saw the film, after a friend suggested it. I smiled, laughed and cried. I still remember it when I see a kite or small boy running.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ‘I’m going t read it as soon as possible. Thanks for the preview. Often we miss out on classical work just because the title maybe misleading your appreciation sure creates the urge to read and see what I have missed out on. .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

